Launch of the Recommendations of the Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency

Jay Owen Green Prosperity, Resource Efficiency, Greentech, Latest Headlines 0 Comments

Ethical Markets is happy to IEA getting with the Energy Efficiency movement , key to sound progress on the SDGs!

~Hazel Henderson , Editor“

Dear Colleagues,


We are thrilled to announce today’s launch of the Recommendations of the Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency. The Global Commission is headed by Irish Prime Minister Leo Varadkar, and comprised of 23 heads of state, current and former ministers, top business executives and global thought leaders. Actions proposed by Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency highlight the benefits efficiency can bring to sustainable recovery plans. To learn more about their Recommendations, please visit the IEA website linked here.

There’s also still time for you to join the discussion of the Recommendations at tomorrow’s Global Conference on Energy Efficiency! The virtual conference will be streaming live on IEA’s website, as well as streaming live on IEA’s Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, and YouTube channels. Check out the updated agenda below!


We invite you to engage with other conference participants on these social media channels using the #efficiency2020 hashtag. To ask questions of the speakers, you can send an email to [email protected].


Please see below for more information about each of the sessions. We’ll see you online!


All the best,

The Energy Efficiency Division


Official Website of the Global Conference on Energy Efficiency




Session 1: Prioritising Energy Efficiency for Sustainable Economic Recovery

8:00 – 9:15 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, Youtube, IEA

Featured Speakers:

  • Dr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
  • H.E. Ms. Salomé Zourabichvili, President of Georgia
  • H.E. Mr. Claude Turmes, Minister for Energy and Minister for Spatial Planning, Luxembourg
  • Mr. Satoshi Tsunakawa, Chairman, Toshiba
  • Dr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, The Energy and Resources Institute, India
  • Ms. Cristina Gamboa, CEO, World Green Building Council


Session 2: Energy Efficiency Action to Create Jobs and Support Development

10:00 – 11:30 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, YoutubeIEA

Featured Speakers:

  • H.E. Mr. Aziz Rabbah, Minister of Energy, Mines and Sustainable Development, Morocco (TBC)
  • H.E. Dr. Amani Abou-Zeid, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union Commission
  • Mr. Kim Fausing, Presiden and CEO, Danfoss
  • Mr. Saurabh Kumar, Managing Director, Energy Efficiency Services Limited
  • Mr. Pierre-André de Chalendar, CEO, Saint-Gobain
  • Ms. Audrey Zibelman, CEO, Australian Energy Market Operator
  • Dr. Johan van Zyl, President and CEO, Toyota Motors Europe


Session 3: Learning from Global Best Practice

12:30 – 14:00 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, YoutubeIEA

Featured Speakers:

  • Mr. Adam Sieminski, President, King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center, Saudi Arabia
  • Mr. Abhay Bakre, Director General, Bureau of Energy Efficiency, India
  • Mr. Tomas Anker Christensen, Climate Ambassador, Denmark
  • Mr. Tomohiro Kaneko, Deputy Commissioner for International Affairs, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, Ministery of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan
  • Mr. Clay Nesler, Interim President, Alliance to Save Energy and Vice President of Global Energy and Sustainability, Johnson Controls, United States
  • Ms. Monica Frassoni, President, European Alliance to Save Energy, Belgium
  • Dr. Satish Kumar, President and Executive Director, Alliance for an Energy Efficient Economy, India
  • Ms. Sang Jing, Founder and Executive Director, China Council for an Energy Efficient Economy, China


Session 4: Engaging at All Levels of Society to Accelerate Efficiency Progress

15:00 – 16:30 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, YoutubeIEA

Featured Speakers:

  • H.E. Ms. Teresa Ribera Rodriguez, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for the Ecological Transition, Spain
  • H.E. Dr. Leonore Gewessler, Minister of Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, Austria
  • H.E. Mr. Richard Bruton, Minister for Climate Action and Environment, Ireland
  • H.E. Mr. Alfonso Cusi, Secretary of Energy, Philippines
  • Ms. Lisa Murkowski, US Senator for Alaska, Chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, United States
  • Dr. Kandeh Yumkella, Former UN Under-Secretary-General, CEO and Special Representative of the Secretary-General, Sustainable Energy for All, Sierra Leone
  • Mr. Gil C. Quiniones, President and CEO, New York Power Authority, United States
  • Ms. Connie Hedegaard, Chair, KR Foundation, Denmark


Session 5: The Importance of Global Collaboration on Energy Efficiency

17:00 – 18:30 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, YoutubeIEA

Featured Speakers:

  • H.E. Ms. Kadri Simson, European Commissioner for Energy, European Commission
  • H.E. Dr. Kwasi Kwarteng, Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth, United Kingdom
  • H.E. Dr. Jorge Rivera, Secretary of Energy, Panama
  • H.E. Mr. Sergio Costa, Minister of the Environment, Italy
  • Dr. Tina Birmpili, Head of UN Ozone Secretariat, United Nations Environment Programme
  • Ms. Jessica Brown, Executive Director, Kigali Cooling Efficiency Program
  • Ms. Charlotte Wang, Founder and CEO, EQuota, China


Session 6: New Approaches to Energy Efficiency Action

19:00 – 20:30 CEST

Livestream Links: Twitter, YoutubeIEA

Featured Speakers:

  • H.E. Mr. Seamus O’Regan, Minster of Natural Resources, Canada
  • Mr. Gerassimos Thomas, Deputy Minister of the Environment and Energy, Greece
  • Dr. Marina Robles, Secretary of Environment, Mexico City
  • Mr. Andrew McDowell, Vice President, European Investment Bank
  • Mr. Alex Fitzsimmons, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency, Department of Energy, United States
  • Mr. Michael Liebreich, Chairman and CEO, Liebreich Associates
  • Mr. Andrés García-Ortiz, Asociación Nacional de Empresas de Eficiencia Energética, Chile

Leave a Reply