IIGCC appoints new Chairman

kristy SRI/ESG News


IIGCC appoints new Chairman

London, November 24, 2011

The Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change (IIGCC), the leading European investors’ forum for collaboration on climate change, has appointed Donald MacDonald as Chairman.

Donald is a Trustee Director of the BT Pensions Scheme and is a past Chairman of the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment. He was appointed a Trustee of BTPS in 1998 and previously served as a Director of BT Quest Ltd (BT Qualifying Employee Shares Trust) as an employee representative. Donald was formerly President of the Communication Workers Union.

Donald will seek to strengthen dialogue with policy makers in order to create the right frameworks for low-carbon investment and encourage best practice across the industry. He takes over from Ole Beier Sørensen who was appointed IIGCC Chairman in May 2009.

Donald Macdonald, Chairman of the IIGCC, said:

“This is an extremely exciting time to be taking on the role of IIGCC Chairman. The policy landscape must shift in favour of low carbon investments and the 17th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change in Durban at the end of the month provides the investor community with an important opportunity to discuss with policymakers the necessary measures to achieve this shift. Working closely with our members I am confident in furthering the progress made by the IIGCC in recent years.”

Stephanie Pfeifer, Executive Director of the IIGCC, said:

“As a former Chairman of the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment Donald has a wealth of knowledge and experience working with the investor community on sustainability-related issues. I am looking forward to working alongside Donald to drive forward the IIGCC programme.”

Additionally, three new members have been elected or co-opted to the IIGCC Steering Committee. They are: Ulrik Dan Weuder at ATP, Eric Jan Stork at APG and Helene Winch at the BT Pension Scheme.

The Steering Committee is comprised of the following:

· Donald MacDonald, BTPS – Chairman

· Vicki Bakhshi, F&C

· Eric Borremans, BNP Paribas Investment Partners

· Ulrik Dan Weuder, ATP

· Marcel Jeucken, PGGM

· Niall O’Shea, The Co-operative Asset Management

· David Russell, USS

· Mike Taylor, LPFA

· Owen Thorne, Merseyside Pension Fund

· Eric Jan Stork, APG

· Helene Winch, BTPS

For further information please contact:

Stephanie Pfeifer, IIGCC
+ 44 (0) 7790 580 177

Nathan Williams, Capital MSL
+ 44 (0) 207 307 5343

About the Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change (IIGCC) www.iigcc.org

The Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change (IIGCC) is a forum for collaboration on climate change for European investors. It provides investors with a voice on climate change and platform from which they can engage with policymakers, investors, sectors and other stakeholders on addressing long-term risks and opportunities associated with climate change. The group currently has 77 members, representing assets of around €7.5trillion.

In detail, the IIGCC’s objectives are to: 1. encourage a pro-active approach amongst asset owners and asset managers on climate change; 2. improve company disclosure/performance on climate change; 3. encourage public policy solutions that ensure a move to a low carbon economy and which are consistent with long-term investment objectives.

For further information see www.iigcc.org