EMM YEAR IN REVIEW – 2013 ANNUAL REPORT

Ethical Markets - R TV Series

ETHICAL MARKETS 2013 ANNUAL REPORT

 

 

ABOUT ETHICAL MARKETS

 

With over 40 years of foresight, insight and integrity in our leadership, Ethical Markets Media (USA and Brazil) works to reform markets and metrics while helping accelerate and track the transition to the green economy worldwide. We are a micro-multinational social enterprise, Certified B Corporation, providing news and perspective with the Green Transition Scoreboard®, Principles of Ethical Biomimicry Finance® the Transforming Finance initiative and Transforming Finance TV Series, research on Beyond GDP, finding strong support worldwide for ESG metrics in national accounting, and with reports, articles, newsletters and analysis by Hazel Henderson, founder and editor-in-chief, on EthicalMarkets.com. We focus on systems thinking and best practices to raise global standards. Ethicalmarkets.tv streams original Ethical Markets productions and video gathered from around the world.

 

MISSION STATEMENT:

 

Reforming markets and metrics while helping accelerate and track the transition to the green economy worldwide

 

TEAM

 

Hazel Henderson – CEO and Founder

Rosalinda Sanquiche – Executive Director

 

 

 

INTRODUCTION

 

We are proud of our many accomplishments this year. While we are still working our way into the black, the work we have done to Transform Finance and facility the Green Transition has been immense. We are grateful to our entire team.

 

The following report is in chronological order of events.

 

 

JANUARY

 

We had many accomplishments in 2012: our Green Economy series on CSRWire; presentations to New York, China and around the world; partnership with Biomimicry 3.8; updating the Green Transition Scoreboard® to $3.6 trillion and so much more. We were honored that Verena Schumacher wrote us in support of our Henderson-Schumacher Library, named in honor of her late husband, pioneering economist-philosopher E. F. Schumacher who wrote the forward to Hazel Henderson’s first book, Creating Alternative Futures (G. P. Putnam’s Sons, NY, 1978, 1996). Our library of over 6,000 volumes focuses on all aspects of greening human economies and the global transition to more equitable, sustainable societies.

 

We begin 2013 with a statement from our third SRI pioneers meeting on Transforming Finance held at Ethical Markets in November. We invite you to sign the attached statement, TRANSFORMING ECONOMIES INTO TRUE WEALTH, before wide release. The statement is an invitation to fully engage in the planetary whole-system shift, with attendees ambitiously asking for cross-sector support in efforts to transform the failing global, political economic system. We began compiling a mindmap of organizations involved in our collective investing models – seen within the larger national, international and planetary context – which we hope to put out this year. “Transforming Economies Into True Wealth” compliments our newest program, Ethical Biomimicry Finance™, for which we are contracting licensees and have produced the Principles of Ethical Biomimicry Finance™ Manual, forthcoming. Contact us to sign the “Transforming Economies” statement or for more information on Ethical Biomimicry Finance™.

 

 

 

MARCH

Attached is our 2013 annual Green Transition Scoreboard® report: Green Transition Inflection Point, finding $4.1 trillion invested or committed as of Q4 2012. The advisory board received the embargoed draft. Thank you for your rave reviews. We’ve also attached our press release. By all means circulate!

 

As you know, the Green Transition Scoreboard® (GTS) tracks private investments growing the green economy worldwide since 2007. The year 2012 was an inflection point for the worldwide green transition. Technology and innovation such as in electricity generation and transport began forcing structural changes and rethinking of business models, urban design and development toward integrated systemic approaches. This year’s GTS demonstrates that many private investors are following our recommended avenue for institutional investors to shift to green sectors. This transition strategy, recognized in the 2012 report by Mercer which suggests 40% of portfolios should be in Green Transition sectors, validates models indicating that investing $1 trillion annually until 2020 can scale innovations and reduce costs. With over $4.1 trillion invested since 2007, investors and countries growing green sectors globally are on track to reach $10 trillion in investments by 2020.

 

Nominations for the 2013 EthicMark® Awards for ads and other media campaigns that uplift the human spirit and society are open until May 15 on the Ethical Markets website. Honoring ethical marketing and media is a powerful way to transform commercial marketing to use the power of ads to simultaneously further the public interest and legitimate private interests. Nominations in for-profit and nonprofit categories are open to ads and media campaigns that ran between January 1, 2012 and the date of nomination. Read about the Awards criteria. Please share news about the Awards with your networks so we can expand the number of outstanding nominations, especially from outside the U.S. You can read about the 2012 winners and the full history of the Awards on the EthicMark® section of the World Business Academy’s website.

 

 

APRIL

 

Early results of Ethical Markets’ Beyond GDP Survey by Globescan to be released via the BBC, co-sponsored by ICAEW and Tomorrow’s Company, show large majorities in eleven countries still favor including indicators on health, education and environment (see our 2007 and 2010 surveys at www.ethicalmarkets.com Beyond GDP).

 

The 2013 Green Transition Scoreboard® report: Green Transition Inflection Point, finding $4.1 trillion invested or committed as of Q4 2012, has been well received. Thank you for your rave reviews and circulating our press release!

 

Nominations for the 7th Annual 2013 EthicMark® Awards for ads and other media campaigns that uplift the human spirit and society are now open until June 15 on the Ethical Markets website. Winners will be announced at the SRI Conference, October 28-30, 2013. We honor the power of ethical marketing to simultaneously further the public interest and legitimate private interests. The EthicMark® Awards now partner with Brazil’s ESPM Award, so help us expand the nominations, especially from outside the U.S.

 

Welcome to our new Advisory Board members:

  • Carson Beadle, former Director, Mercer; Exec Committee Chairman, Security Mutual Life Insurance of NY
  • Giuseppe La Manna, Ecologix
  • Dave Lauer, Technology Architecture and Equity Markets
  • Terry Mock, Champion Tree Project International and the Sustainable Land Development Initiative
  • Martin Ping, Hawthorne Valley Farm
  • Jakob von Uexkull, World Future Council

 

We look forward to those of you coming to our spring retreat, May 17-19th!

 

Posts from the EMM Team and Advisory Board members:

 

 

MAY

 

The Ethical Markets’ Beyond GDP Survey by Globescan, co-sponsored by ICAEW and Tomorrow’s Company, was released May 29th showing large majorities in eleven countries still favor including indicators on health, education and environment. The press release has been shared with contacts at BBC World Service, The Economist, the World Bank and many others. Along with data from our 2007 and 2010 surveys, the 2013 data is also available at www.ethicalmarkets.com Beyond GDP. These findings are in line with World Bank President Jim Yong Kim, M.D., who wrote in his book Dying For Growth (2002) that “the quest for growth in GDP” had “worsened the lives of millions of women and men” (quoted in The Economist , “Stand up for Doing Business” May 25 , 2013).

 

Read Hazel’s forthcoming article for CSRWire (attached) — GDP: STILL A GROSSLY DISTORTED PICTURE.

 

Please welcome our newly–appointed Co-Chair of Ethical Markets Advisory Board, Leslie Danziger – Entrepreneur, Strategist, Spiritual Mentor. Leslie is one of the first women entrepreneurs in solar energy. She cofounded two solar manufacturing companies. LightPath Technologies (www.lightpath.com) was founded in 1985. As its Chairman and CEO, she repositioned it as an optical technologies developer and manufacturer and then took it public in 1996. Solaria Corporation (www.solaria.com) was founded in 1999. While she was active, her companies raised over $300 million in private and public funding and employed hundreds of people. Leslie holds two patents, was named the New Mexico Inventor of the Year and has been featured in Business Week and the Wall Street Journal. In 2004, she worked with Susan Davis to help form the Solar Circle, a network of leading experts in solar energy. Leslie retired from Solaria in 2009. She currently serves on our Advisory Board and the boards of Equal Access (www.equalaccess.org) which she co-initiated; World Blu (http://www.worldblu.com); and is a Sisters on the Planet Ambassador, an OxFam Initiative (http://www.oxfamamerica.org). Leslie’s lifelong passion has been to transform finance and energy systems to enable a peaceful, just and sustainable world civilization. Leslie is a longtime meditator and is dedicated to her spiritual practice and to serving others. She loves living in nature, swimming, and taking care of people and animals.

 

Follow Hazel Henderson in a fascinating interview series produced by Pamela Davis, host of Pamela Davis Investigates, for the Zing Wisdom Network. Hazel is addressing questions about money and the direct and perhaps greater role of the ever mysterious “finance” in our lives. What should be our relationship with money? Can we transform the use of money and finance to serve a higher purpose? What are the healing tools and systems we need? Davis interviews luminaries whose work, wisdom, and experience make a transformational difference. You can sign up for Davis’ matchless interviews with Hazel and many others for free at www.ZingWisdomNetwork.com/Futurist/invite.

 

Don’t forget — nominations for the 7th Annual 2013 EthicMark® Awards for ads and other media campaigns that uplift the human spirit and society are now open until July 15 on the Ethical Markets website. Please share with your networks and help us gather nominations, especially from outside the U.S.

 

Recent posts from the EMM Team and Advisory Board members:

 

 

AUGUST

 

Welcome to our new Advisory Board members:

  • Paul Dickinson, Founder and Executive Chair of Carbon Disclosure Project
  • Joy Kelleher, Business Development Executive, Key Developmental Assets, LLC

 

We now have a Directory of Green Asset Managers which we will soon post to our Ethical Markets SRI category on the website. The directory is in response to the many requests to Hazel to serve on advisory boards of asset management firms. Firms and organizations listed in the Directory have shown commitment and success in financing the Green Transition. We welcome growing the Directory by adding, vetted by our criteria, your suggested favorite players in this field.

 

Hazel’s forthcoming monograph, “Mapping the Transition to the Solar Age: from Economism to Earth Systems Science,” conceptualizes, in her words,

the new planetary awareness driving these paradigm shifts as we humans “connect the dots.” This knowledge explosion is now challenging our cultural beliefs about money, wealth, scarcity, abundance and transcending financial models derived from obsolete economics, led in many countries by younger generations connected by social media. The new multi-disciplinary models and metrics reassure us that in moving beyond economics and GDP we will not be flying blind but moving to the many earth systems science models (including those from NASA) and data from many scientific fields which this monograph explores.

We are pleased with this collaboration with ICAEW and Tomorrow’s Company who are co-publishing the monograph and are proud to have the Foreword written by Dennis Bushnell, Chief Scientist,

NASA Langley Research Centre.

 

The Green Transition Scoreboard® update will be available in September. This is the last chance to have your company or any companies you may know added to the growing tally of over $4.1 trillion of private investments in the green economy since 2007.

 

The finalists for the 7th Annual 2013 EthicMark® Awards for Advertising Uplifting Potentials for Our Human Future have been announced. The Awards will be given during the SRI Conference, Boulder, CO, Oct. 28-30. Check out our fabulous finalists in for-profit and non-profit categories.

 

Posts from the EMM Team and Advisory Board members:

 

SEPTEMBER

 

Hazel Henderson Update: Alert on Syria

 

My article, “Averting Another US Foreign Policy Disaster”, is published today in The Globalist. While Ethical Markets’ long-term mission is to reform markets and metrics while growing the green economy worldwide, I felt I had to comment on the US binary policy: bomb Syria or do nothing!

 

So I outlined better, stronger options including indicting Assad before the International Criminal Court (ICC) – the legal way to pressure and punish for the use of chemical and other weapons. Now the game changed yesterday and there is new hope in Russia and Syria’s agreement to allow international control of Assad’s chemical weapons!

 

I wrote that a paradigm change is possible – beyond use of military force on problems that can only be solved by diplomatic and political means. Let’s all hope that this new opening may lead to a more truly democratic, sustainable, green and peaceful future!

 

Read our latest update and watch our video on the Green Transition Scoreboard®.

 

 

OCTOBER

 

We announce, with deep appreciation of his service, that Dr. Alan F. Kay, co-founding board member of Ethical Markets Media is retiring from active participation in daily activities. Dr. Kay has accepted the position of Honorary Chair of the Ethical Markets Advisory Board. We are grateful for Alan’s wise guidance and unswerving support.

 

We are proud to announce that we are now a certified B Corporation. We have long been “Walking the Talk”, a segment on the Ethical Markets TV Series (2005), and providing research for businesses and investors tracking the transition to a global green economy. B Lab has created a dynamic platform for those of us who believe business and sustainability go hand-in-hand to find each other and an easy means for the general populace to identify us. Becoming a B Corp gives all of us in the sustainability community greater visibility, attesting that there are many socially responsible businesses – accelerating toward the tipping point when B Corps are the worldwide norm.

 

For those of you who missed the press release, please read our Green Transition Scoreboard® (GTS) mid-year update which shows a tremendous jump from $4.1 to $5.2 trillion in the first half of 2013. The mid-year update to the Green Transition Inflection Point: Green Transition Scoreboard® 2013 Report provides a succinct summary of the GTS and delves into the trends growing the Renewable Energy and Green Construction sectors, specifically.

 

Welcome to our new Advisory Board members:

  • Kenneth Fink, lawyer, author and inter-disciplinarian; author,  Unbuttoned -Who says men can’t change? (2006)
  • Dr. Mae-Wan Ho, B.Sc.Hon. and PhD, Hong Kong University; Director of the Institute of Science in Society (www.i-sis.org.uk), Chief Editor and Art Director of its quarterly trend-setting magazine, Science in Society; author, The Rainbow and the Worm, The Physics of Organisms (1993, 1998, 2008) and Living Rainbow H2O (2012)

 

 

Hazel’s forthcoming monograph, “Mapping the Global Transition to the Solar Age: from Economism to Earth Systems Science,” tracks new metrics as the new planetary awareness is reintegrating knowledge and shifting old paradigms. Our colleagues at ICAEW and Tomorrow’s Company are co-publishing the monograph, with foreword by Dennis Bushnell, Chief Scientist, NASA Langley Research Centre. The monograph will be launched at Britain’s House of Lords, November 14, 2013.

 

Check out our fabulous finalists for the 7th Annual 2013 EthicMark® Awards for Advertising Uplifting Potentials for Our Human Future. The Awards will be given during the SRI Conference, Boulder, CO, Oct. 28-30, where Advisory Board members Katherine Collins and Stuart Valentine will be presenting on our Principles of Ethical Biomimicry Finance™. Read “Biomimicry’s growing web of opportunity” by Joel Makower at GreenBiz.com, featuring Hazel Henderson and Advisory Board member Janine Benyus, Biomimicry 3.8, and Hazel Henderson’s interview in Green Money Journal.

 

Hazel Henderson attended the UN Global Compact Leaders Summit in NYC with 1,200 other CEOs, mostly from China, Japan, India, Korea, Europe and Latin America, where our UN-PRI colleagues released their new mandatory reporting requirements.

 

Posts from the EMM Team and Advisory Board members:

 

 

NOVEMBER

 

The finalist of our 7th Annual 2013 EthicMark® Awards for Advertising Uplifting Potentials for Our Human Future were announced at the SRI Conference, Boulder, CO, Oct. 28, 2013. Congratulations to winners Philips in the for-profit category for its video “Philips Light Centres for Africa” showing how Philips’ centers with solar-powered LED lighting have sparked community life, and to UTEC (Technical University – Peru) in the nonprofit category for “UTEC potable water generator,” its first-of-a-kind billboard that creates water out of misty air through osmosis, as a means of recruiting socially-minded engineering students. Our deep appreciation to former executive director Madeleine Austin who is moving on to other endeavors.

 

 

 

 

2013 EVENTS

 

  • Hazel Henderson presenting on Principles of Ethical Biomimicry Finance™ at the KINS for Conscious Investing, IONS, Petaluma, CA, May 4
  • Hazel Henderson will be speaking at the ISSP Conference 2013, Chicago, IL, May 8-10.
  • EMM is a media partner to GreenPower international conferences the Maghreb Renewable Energy Congress, Rabat, Morocco, May 21-22 and Solar Power Mexico , May 28-29.
  • EMM is a long time media partner to Sustainable Brands 2013, San Diego, CA, June 3-6 (20% discount code for our readers NWethicmSB13)
  • EMM Advisory Board member Janine Benyus keynoting at Biomimicry 3.8 Global Conference, University of Massachusetts Boston, June 21.
  • EMM correspondent Martha Shaw attending the TBLI Conference, founded by Robert Rubenstein, EMM Advisory Board member, in New York, June 17-18.
  • EMM Advisory Board member Janine Benyus keynoting at Biomimicry 3.8 Global Conference, University of Massachusetts Boston, June 21.
  • Hazel Henderson is the keynote speaker for the Eco-islands Global Summit 2013, Bornholm, Denmark, September 10.
  • Ethical Markets is a media partner with RETECH 2013, Washington DC, September 9-11
  • Ethical Markets is a media partner with UpGyres, Vancouver, British Columbia, October 1
  • Ethical Markets is a media partner with SVN Fall Conference 2013, Baltimore, MD, October 17-20
  • Rosalinda Sanquiche, EMM Executive Director, speaking on panel for USGBC and University of North Florida Green Carpet Film Series, October 21
  • Hazel Henderson is speaking at Global Oneness Day, October 24, online summit
  • Ethical Markets Advisory Board members Rinaldo Brutoco and Stuart Valentine are presenting at the SRI Conference, Colorado Springs, CO October. 28-30
  • Hazel Henderson is speaking at The Healthy Money Summit, Nov 7 & 8, 11:00am to 12:00pm, online summit
  • EMM Executive Director Rosalinda Sanquiche is a panelist at the Power-Gen International Finance Forum, Orlando, November 12-14. – CANCELED
  • Ethical Markets Advisory Board member Robert Rubinstein is the founder of and Ethical Markets is a media partner with TBLI, November 14-15, Zurich.
  • Ethical Markets is a media partner with 2013 Independence in Energy Symposium, Austin, TX, November 19-20